Best and Worst Purchases

Pep in CA

Thinking over my firearms purchases, I have arrived at clear favorites for best and worst purchases. Admittedly, I'm rather new to firearms so I have a short list, but I am indeed certain of my best and worst purchases.

Let's start with my worst purchase: My Marlin 60 rifle. Yeah, it shoots straight, is very popular, and is very affordable. That's why I bought it, and for those things it is a good gun and worth the money. But I wish I would have researched more and spent more on a CZ 452/455 training rifle instead. Twice the price but 10X the quality for a training rifle.

My best purchase: My current ammo stockpile. There is no greater feeling of security than having a stockpile of ammo at your disposal. Actually, the reason I bought my current stockpile is the new CA laws restricting ammo purchases, but I grin every time I look at it. Woohoo!

What are your best and worst firearms purchases? I hope you share.

shootniron

Honestly, worst purchases have been 2 new Taurus revolvers...both have been junk.

My best purchase was a new Ruger Mkll in about 1986 or 1987...still my favorite handgun.

TruthTellers

Best: Glock 35.

Worst: used H&R 732 I just got this week. :( It's getting returned.

Unsure: Marlin XT-22. Not sure if it's the ammo, me, the scope, or the gun, but it spits out 2-3 inch groups at 25 yards... from a rest.

FrankenMauser

Best: Marlin 882SS, .22 WMR (circa 1998). It may not be the best rifle, and it pales in comparison to the amount of meat put in the freezer by some centerfire rifles; but it's one of my favorite rifles, has taken a substantial amount of small game, and I got it dirt-cheap, brand-new.

Honorable mention: Ruger M77, .270 Win, SS/laminate. Ridiculous accuracy/precision for a mass-market rifle, and one of my highest-ranking "freezer-fillers".

Worst: Cobra derringers.
All of them are garbage. ...Even the one that I still own.

Honorable mention for "worst": Taurus. All of them.