AR 15 from Scratch

Dr Big Bird PhD

Over the past couple of months I've talked to a couple friends and a colleague about purchasing my first rifle. I have experience with shotguns, and killed my first deer with a 30-6. I'm still pretty new to the world of rifles though. After saving up some from work, xmas, college, etc. I decided I wanted to learn more about guns. My colleague's dad is a defense contractor and recommended to build an AR15 to get the "jist" of it really.

Ive done some research and have come up with a list of things I'd need to get since I aim to build one from scratch. I wanna do it well, and I wanna do it right. My price range is about $900-$1200, and I want to focus on defense, shooting ranges, and basic hunting up to 300m.

I'd prefer not to get huge kits, as I want to put some personal touch into the weapon. Below is a list of everything I assume I'd need, and things I have questions regarding. Some general recommendations for individual, cheap, and reliable parts would be great. Even if it is just brands. I apologize if I come off as poorly in this post.

Also, 16, 18 or 20in? I was thinking 16 since I wont need that long distance accuracy for the most part.

-Kind of stripped flat top upper and lower receiver?
-Small or large pin trigger?
-Trigger guard (I'm sure I can just pick my own)
-Pistol grip (Is this just personal preference?) Also should I get a foregrip?
-Upper/lower receiver parts kit rec?
-Threaded vs Crown barrel
-Do i need to spend the extra on a free-float vs a two piece hand guard for my uses? I understand recoil and accuracy differences
-Flash hiding compensator rec?
-Gas block (with rail, with sight, etc?)
-Bolt carrier group?
-Should I just get a stock set? If so, ss a milspec moe the way to go, and would anyone hate me if said i was toying with the idea of a maple wood stock set

austinjunks