Advice for a new 1911 owner

grubbylabs

I just got my first 1911, I know Its not exactly a traditional 1911 but so far I really like it.

Any advice for a new 1911 owner?

jimbob86

I wish somone had told me when I was a 1911 newb that you should never drop a round in the chamber and hit the slide release ...... bad juju for extractors, that ...... don't do that.

They were designed to feed from the magazine.

BTW, what did you get?

Old_Dog

At each range session devote some time to shooting like this:

Chamber a round
Engage manual safety to place it on safe
Raise gun and swipe the safety to off safe with thumb
Shoot one shot
Engage manual safety on safe again and repeat

In other words spend some quality time swiping your safety off safe for each shot until it becomes second nature. You can tell when you have mastered it when you start swiping the safety off of guns that do not have them. :)

Most people I see at the range chamber a round in their 1911 and never touch their safety at all. That is a very dangerous way to practice because you are training yourself to shoo the gun without touching the safety and in a real situation you might fall back on the way you trained.

The other thing is if you carry it, carry it cocked and locked. If you cannot bring yourself to do that, it is the wrong gun for you because there is no assurance that you will have the use of your left hand in a fight.

Larry K

Good advice Old Dog, have recently found the new holster I use for my 9mm, I had developed an inadvertent tendency to bump ( activate )the safety on re-holster, so when it was my turn to shoot again, safety was on( not so good when you expect it to be off.)
So developed a new habit that had me always placing my thumb on top and pushing down to deactivate the safety on presentation.

Being a new 1911 owner as well all these little tips help. :)

KyJim