About to Buy a Heavy Duty Handgun

HWS

I have an AR15 so the natural tactical choice for a handgun is a 1911 or Glock. But I live in the country and many days I am in the forest. I have been doing this for 30 years and never had a problem but if I am going to get a handgun I want it to handle and potential problems.

There is always a lot of talk about handguns that will stop a grizzly. This is not a pleasant thought for me. We don't have grizzly bears here, only black bears but we do have mountain lions.

So if I get a handgun I want it to have a chance of stopping the aforementioned creatures. If it will do that, a human should be no problem. I really don't care if it is a revolver or semi-auto.

What would you recommend?

Last edited by a moderator:

raimius

There is no perfect answer. Handguns lack the power of rifle rounds. That said, .44mag would be a logical starting point for further debate.

SIGSHR

Not a hunter nor do I play one the Web, recall Jeff Cooper answering a reader :
"As much as I favor the .45, I wear a .44 in bear country".

stephen426

If you don’t have grizzly bears, a 10mm should work for you. Glocks are not fancy, but they are incredibly reliable and corrosion resistant. 15+1 rounds of 10mm is a lot of firepower. If you prefer a wheel gun, a 4” .357 should work for you. You only get 6 shots compared to Glock’s 15+1. I think semi-autos are easier to carry so I’d go with the Glock.

Hawg

Pretty much anything will take care of a mountain lion but even with a black bear I'd want a .357 or .44 mag.

Pathfinder45

But I live in the country and many days I am in the forest.
The answer is simple: Ruger Blackhawk or Super-Blackhawk; caliber would have to be 357 Magnum, or 45 Colt, or 44 Magnum. Any of those will do fine, but the 357 is probably the best choice for most. Me? I'm a 45 Colt guy, myself, but it ain't for everybody; neither is the 44 Magnum.

Alan0354