.22 Revolver for the Wife

TunnelRat

All,
I'm relatively new to the shooting scene and my wife is even newer. She likes shooting, but she has very small hands and the recoil on larger calibers unnerves her. She's used a .22 revolver before, some Smith version, and enjoyed it very much. However I have tried to get her into .38 special and I don't think she feels comfortable enough at this point. Her complaints are that it can be hard for her to reach the trigger and more so the heavier calibers have too much recoil. I think if she shoots .22 for a while she would be able to handle it, but I don't want to force her at this point.

My problem is all the .22 revolvers I seem to be able to find are like $500 at local gun shops around me. While I want her to be able to go shooting with me, it's hard to swallow paying that for a .22 when I could get some nice .38 or even .357 for that price.

Do people know of any reasonably priced .22 revolvers for a beginner and where I might be able to acquire them if they are online?

Thanks,
-TR

aarondhgraham

Hello TunnelRat,,,

Yep, that's a common dilemma,,,
Revolvers are often quite expensive,,,
Especially since there aren't that many made in DA/SA.

You might consider a Charter Arms Target Pathfinder .22,,,
A lady friend of mine has one and it's a good performing revolver.

The trigger was a bit gritty at first,,,
But after a couple of hundred rounds of inexpensive bulk pack ammo,,,
It smoothed out very nicely and it's now a very slick DA trigger and a great SA trigger.

Buds Gun Shop has them for $342.00

One additional thought though,,,
You can buy a very nice .22 target semi-auto for less than $300.00

These are the 5 most common target style .22 pistols out there,,,
Any one of these 5 will give you many years of excellent performance.

I've not listed them in any order of preference.

Browning Buckmark = Great pistol but I found the grip to be funky.
Ruger 22/45 Mk II or MK III = Great pistol with a 1911-ish grip.