1911 Safeties?

Capt. Charlie

Moderator Emeritus
I'm fairly new to the world of 1911's and never thought about this before, but how "safe" are the safeties on the 1911? All of my past carry autopistols have been DA, but I bought a Charles Daly EMS (commander) a few months back for CC, and I just can't get used to the idea of walking around cocked and locked. It makes me nervous. I remember a few years ago a friend (who was a little goofy anyhow) got done firing his 1911 and tossed it onto the seat of my other buddy's brand new pickup. It bounced off the seat onto the floor and went boom. Hole in other buddy's new pickup. Other buddy not happy. (yeah, I know; incredibly dumb stunt.) Anyhow, I remember from the service that the 1911 incorporates 4 safeties. How could that happen?) Anybody else suffer from the "Cocked & Locked Jitters"?

By the way, I had problems with the Daly right off the bat, but I dumped the crappy factory mags and bought Chip McCormick match grade mags and it's been a gem ever since.

andymiesha

I have the same fears although I know its unfounded. I have a CHL and I really want to get a Kimber CDP to carry everyday. I have a Tactical pro now but I can't bring myself to carry it in a holster without the leather hammer block. I carry IWB.
My other choice is the G36 but I also have misgivings about carrying it with one in the pipe with only the trigger safety between me and a shredded leg. I even thought about a Para Ord LDA since I am partial to the 1911 platform. I don't see the point in carrying a piece that I would have to work the slide during a confrontation. Perhaps someone would like to alleviate my, and your, fear???? :confused:

Puppy

1911's are designed to be carried in condition 1 (cocked & locked).

The weapon will not fire unless the operator; manually deactivates the thumb safety, palms the grip safety, and then squeezes the trigger.

shield20

A typical newer 1911 will have:

1) Thumb/safety lock
2) Grip Safety