Your Opinions, Please

Single Six

I recall hearing the bit about .357-toting LEOs using .38 ammo for practice, and loading up with full-house .357s for duty carry. The story goes that this practice really bit them in their collective butts; their on-the-street accuracy with their sidearms suffered. This was allegedly due to their being accustomed to the comparatively weaker .38s, and therefore not being able to handle the more stout .357 ammo. I guess we've all heard this story, and it does seem logical, though I'm not 100% sure of it's veracity. In any case, my question: I carry a .45 with 230 grain JHPs. If all I practice with is a 9mm with 115 grain ball [only because of the price difference between .45 ball vs. 9mm], should I expect similar grim results....or am I over-thinking this, and it only matters that I'm shooting regularly? Thanks for any and all replies.

kraigwy

I think that theory is a Myth.

I was a Firearms Instructor in LE while we were still using revolvers. We qualified with 357s and practiced with 38s. Our qualifications consisted of firing 48 rounds in a relatively short period of time and I didn't notice the problems you mentioned.

You develop "muscle memory" by practice. Under stress, muscle memory kicks in. If you were practicing good fundamentals with 38s, if the few rounds a cops shoots in a "shoot out" there isn't time to program muscle memory by shooting 357s.

There isn't that much difference in recoil that its going to throw you off at the distances cops shoot.

Its kind of like saying "dry firing" does no good because you don't get the recoil from firing actual rounds.

KyJim

If I'm shooting .38s in a magnum, I'll usually put a cylinder full of magnums through it just to keep familiar with the feel. I've never noticed using .38s effecting my aim.

lee n. field

should I expect similar grim results....or am I over-thinking this, and it only matters that I'm shooting regularly?