your opinion on this 586-2; "worn in", or "worn out"?

Safestuffer

I have little experience with this, so far I've been lucky with my used gun purchases. I appreciate any advice from wiser people than myself

I have a 6 inch 586-2 that I love, and I have been looking for a decent 4 inch 586 shooter that is a bit easier to carry.
I found another 4" 586-2 that looked to be pretty much perfect for what I wanted.

586-24inch.jpeg

4 inch, round butt for my short little fingers, and I even like the front sight modification. It looks to be in decent shape, certainly a shooter. It was an auction gun with pretty good pictures, and I got it for what I thought was a pretty good price considering the front sight, grips, and level of wear. The bore was described as "excellent".

Long story short, my FFL/LGS is on vacation and closed this month but I got lucky when the gun came in while the manager was in doing paperwork so he called me and let me in to do the transfer the last 10 minutes he was there...so I didn't really have the time to do a lot of inspection. I checked and the gun locked up tight and functioned well. I was expecting the obvious flaws such as the scratched ejector rod and replacement dovetailed front sight.

I got home and gave it a better inspection and started getting depressed.
The first thing I noticed was this.

586forcingcone2.jpeg

Ugh. :( Is it just me or is that a lot of erosion on that forcing cone? I have a few .357 revolvers, some fairly heavily shot both by me and by the prior owners, and this is the first time I've seen this much damage.
I turn the gun over and see this.

flamecuttingtopstrap.jpeg

I mean...dang. I know that's just cosmetic, but :eek: Again, that's by far and above the worst flame cutting I've personally seen on a .357.

Now mind you, the gun locks up find with no end shake and maybe just a bit more than normal side to side play, but I noticed when the cylinder is open it has far more back and forth slop than my other 586.