You guys have no idea how lucky you are....

TheFella

to not live in New Jersey! So many of you can walk into a gun shop and walk out with a gun. Heres what i have to do in NJ to get a gun....

first, you have to go to your local police station and pick up 3 forms, fill em out and bring em back in duplicate, two are just permit applications and 1 is a release of mental health records. Make an appointment to bring in the forms. You have to pay $65 for them to do a background check plus 6 stamps so they can mail stuff to the state police. you need to get fingerprinted by the police. they mail out a questionaire about whether or not your fit to own a gun to 2 references you provide, PLUS one to your employer. (im a kindergarten teacher, so you can guess how thrilled my boss was to learn i was to buy a gun.) then on top of this, you need to pay $8 for your long gun permit, plus another 3 bucks for each pistol permit. and pistol permits expire after 90 days.

this is all supposed to take 30 days, by law. I applied for my permits in mid september and havent heard anything from the police. i called 3 times and they keep giving me cock and bull stories about why my permits arent in yet. its so frustrating because buying a gun illegally from a drug dealer is as easy as buying cigarettes. yet if you actually take the time and effort and expense to go through the process legally, they treat you like dirt just for wanting a gun to protect your family.

i really used to like living in new jersey.... now, not so much...

sorry, just wanted to vent

TheFella

yea, ive looked into getting a lawer, itl cost between 500 and 700 bucks, which is more than i wanted to spend on my first gun. there really is nothing else i can do other than shell out several hundred dollars for something i should have gotten for free

and no, cant buy guns in other states, you have to comply with the laws of the state in which you reside..

Brian Pfleuger

Moderator Emeritus