Yesterday's Adventure: Rangemaster to 66 Cub Scouts

Dave R

Sigh. The things we do for love, and our love of the sport.

Yesterday I played rangemaster to 66 Cub Scouts shooting BB guns. Fortunately, not all at the same time. 9 groups of about 7-8 each.

This is the first time I have done something like this. My wife is in the Stake Primary Presidency (Mormon-speak for a district leader over young kids from 13 congregations). One of her assignments is to put on a Cub Scout Day Camp for those 13 congregations, along with some help from the Boy Scouts of America. She needed a Range Master for the BB Gun venue. Guess who volunteered?

All outdoors. Eight to Five. High of 107 today. I was in the sun all but about one hour of that. Thank Heaven for miracle fabrics, water coolers, a good hat and high SPF. Still kicked my butt pretty good. I was on my feet all but about an hour, too. Hard work.

I kinda learned on the fly. As father of seven, youngest age 9, I’ve had some experience working with kids. Also did some church service with them. Still, first time shooting with so many people of different experience levels and mental levels at one time. I got better as the day went on.

Procedure evolved into the following:

1. Explain The Four Rules. They boys repeat them back after a brief explanation. We focus on 2 and 3, the ones we would have the most trouble with.
2. Explain the range rules.
3. Bring ‘em out on the range, and walk then through the operation of a pump BB gun. Started off demonstrating, but rapidly evolved into having them follow along with me on each step of pumping, charging, etc.
4. Let ‘em shoot. Troubleshoot with boys having trouble with the above. Man, its hard to focus on one kid having trouble while monitoring the other 5-6 for safety.