Worst bulk rimfire yet?

Sevens

I've been shooting bricks & bulk rimfire since 1988, best I can recall. I've spent the first 3/4 of my life pretty dead-sure-certain that the worst bulk rimfire that money could buy was absolutely going to be from Remington, and usually some version, name or iteration of their "Golden Bullet" stuff.

Yeah, bulk rimfire is the low cost volume stuff. I'm absolutely -NOT- talking about (nor asking for!) match accuracy, and I'm not asking for perfection. I wouldn't even begin to suggest that any of this stuff shouldn't be a little dirty or mucky... it's rimfire fodder afterall, and we're getting the "best" priced product they offer.

Well... move over Remington. There's a new "worst" rimfire fodder on the market and it's the Winchester M-22 product. <barfing smiley>

My informal research (hands-on limited experience) comes from this product bought from THREE different places by myself and two other buddies. The basic, common "failure to fire" that usually will eventually go BANG when you clock the round to a different place on the case head? Oh, we've got that a-plenty. If you wanna be the worst, that's a basic requirement.

With these, we've found a helluva time actually pulling the crap dud round out of the chamber so we can 'clock' it and hit it a second time. The different guns? A late 50's S&W Model 18, a GSG 1911-22, a Browning Buck Mark Camper, a 1955 Colt Huntsman and my 5-inch Sig/Hammerli Trailside. Please no suggestions that this is a gun issue. :p NOT!

With the rounds that simply aren't going to go BANG no matter where or how many times we hit it? Of course we pull them down. We want to see if the priming compound was smeared SOMEWHERE in there or forgotten entirely. On the Remington stuff, I could usually count on half the round getting a nice smear while the other half was clean & shiny. Sometimes, the whole inside was clean & shiny and priming compound never got in there at all.