working on an in-line for a friend

HistoryJunkie

It is my first time ever looking at the internals of an inline muzzle loader. My friend had it, and knew that it could not fire.

It is a Traditions Tracker Model 209. The bolt was stuck. After a lot of cleaning, hot water baths, etc, the bolt came out. Now I can see the breech plug. It is my understanding from reading and schematics that you should be able to see through it? It looks like there is what looks like a spent primer(?) in the middle of it with a metal washer around it.

I'm pretty in the dark here, and would love to provide a pic but my camera is on the fritz. Any ideas? I think I might have just jumped in too deep.

HistoryJunkie

Okay I finally got my camera to work. Apologies for lack of quality, as I still have a flip phone.

If someone could even possibly include a picture of what a clear breech plug in this model or something like it should look like, that would be wonderful.

Attachments

• image.jpg
    image.jpg
    154.9 KB · Views: 45

PetahW

You would be best served by contacting Traditions to obtain an owner/service manual for the rifle.

That inline has a breechplug that uses/takes 209 shotgun-type primers ILO a #11 or musket percussion cap.

I would respectfullty suggest that, before going any further, you ascertain the barrel's unloaded.

The easiest way to determine such would be to run a ramrod or dowel bownbore from the muzzle until it stops, then make a mark on the rod where it exits the muzzle.

Withdraw the rod and lay it alongside the barrel, with the mark at the muzzle end of the barrel - so you can see on the outside of the bbl, exactly what stopped the rod inside the bbl.

If that location is much more than an inch ahead of the rear of the breechplug's rear (not the primer holder/nipple) - then there's a good chance it's loaded, & fiddling with the priming could discharge the rifle.

(Loads can be pulled with a screw-jag/puller)