Winchester Ranger

Saltydog235

Got a line on a Winchester Ranger LA in .270. From very little looking this appears to be a Model 70 action in budget trim and parts. Is this true? Would it be suitable to do a build off of or would parts be hard to come by. IE, will normal 70 parts work.

joed

I'm not an expert but I believe the rifle just has a cheaper stock on it. It was introduced as a low budget entry so they cut corners on production to hold cost down.

Doyle

That's exactly what it is - a Model 70 set in a birch stock with a plain barrel. I had one also in .270 - it shot 130gr bullets OK (about 1 1/2 MOA). However, it scattered 150gr bullets like a shotgun pattern.

T. O'Heir

Yep. Winchester along with nearly everybody else used 'Ranger' as a model name. As mentioned, the M70 Ranger is just that. An M70 with a less expensive stock wood. No issues with parts.

jmr40

Parts shouldn't be hard to get,but remember this is a push feed action that hasn't been made in nearly 10 years. They have been in limited production since the early 1990's when Winchester went back to the controlled round feed actions. Most of the parts used on current production guns are not going to work. It was the same as a model 70 made from 1964-2006, not the same model 70 made since 1992. Between 1992 and 2006 they made both styles.

Some Rangers used a floor plate, others used a blind magazine. Finding aftermarket stocks for the blind magazine versions is tough and it would add to the expenses to buy the parts to convert. But is certainly possible.

Even with a floor plate the rifles made prior to 2008 use different bottom metal and there are few options for aftermarket stocks that would bolt on. It is possible to buy the new bottom metal or use an adapter and make the new stocks fit the older rifles.

If you plan on going all out with a really nice rifle with little concern for cost you can do it. If you're looking for a budget build you will probably be better off keeping the stock.