Why so much crime in Arizona?

Status
Not open for further replies.

38snapcaps

My wife and I are watching the news:
Wife: Is Arizona a good state for gun laws?
Me: Yes, it is very good.
Wife: If people can have guns, why then is there so much crime?
Me: ...............that's a good question..........I don't know.

How would you answer?

jgcoastie

IIRC, crime in AZ has been declining, although very very slowly, over the past few years as more gun-friendly legislation has been passed.

AZ is also receiving a lot of good and bad press lately, so who knows if the news is reporting accurately.

But, that's just my outside observations, residents could probably give you a more accurate answer.

45Gunner

I don't believe Arizona has more crime that it used to, it's just that it has become more publicized recently.

Years ago, I used to be a part time resident in a very upscale community. Arizona was among the first to become a "shall issue" State with the requirement that an applicant attend a 16 hour class.

Sheriff Joe was always making headlines with the way he treated prisoners...pink jumpsuits, living in outdoor tents, no cable TV, etc. He was doing his best to ensure that criminals were not going to be repeat offenders or leave AZ altogether when they were released.

What happened in AZ is the immigration problem as it became a haven for illegals and gang activity. I don't think the problem is any worse there than in TX, CA, or NM. AZ has decided to do something about it and it has drawn itself into the limelight.

drail