Why is reloading cost-effective?

Rich Miranda

I've been wondering about this for a while.

How is that reloading your own ammo saves money? When you consider the massive advantage ammo-makers have in terms of buying in huge quantities, fast machinery, etc., shouldn't factory ammo be cheaper than doing it yourself?

What is it that I'm missing?

freakshow10mm

licenses
taxes
insurance
labor
payroll taxes
rent
utilities
lawyers on retainer

You save on all those when you roll your own. I load ammo for a living.

spacecoast

He also forgot you are re-useing the brass cases. Brass can be reloaded many times.

Just the brass alone can cost 10-30 cents a round, depending on if new or used. The ammo makers don't pay that much for it but it still costs.

NCMountain

All good points.........

Even with all the cost associated with a business of reloading and if they could even get a single finished round down to lets say .20 cents (which it may be cheaper for all I know)....................they would still charge up to a $1 per round I would say for profit margin.

And as long as we pay that price they will keep pumping out the rounds.

I can't say I blame them for this. I could only imagine the liability insurance they carry for lawsuits and like one poster stated......those bastard lawyers that complicate everything on board as well.

jtc2162

licenses
taxes
insurance
labor
payroll taxes
rent
utilities
lawyers on retainer
He forgot,
Profit margin.
Retail mark up.
Not charging yourself for your labour.

Add transportation from factory to distributor, distributor to retailer.

Ksmoker

reloads

It's worth something to me to occupy some time, this time of year.
I have motorcycles to, reloading is way cheaper than the bikes. Besides that I'm only figuring on being here on this piece of dirt once so I'm having a little fun along the way.

jiw275

Saving money by reloading

"I've been wondering about this for a while.