Why I'm never buying Hornady dies again

Geezerbiker

I've been having problems with a Hornady .300 Blackout sizer die. I would either stick a case or get lube dents. I've been reloading for over 30 years and I consider both of those beginner mistakes.

After awhile of dealing with it, I took the die apart and flushed it out with Ed's Red and went to poke a paper clip into the vent hole only to find there wasn't one. I eMailed Hornady with no reply. I also did some research to find that Lee and RCBS .300BLK dies have the vent hole.

I waited another week for Hornady to reply to my eMail and I called them today. The gist of it is they think that the .300 BLK sizer doesn't need the vent hole. They told me I didn't know what I was doing and that's why I'm having problems. I told the guy that was pure BS and that I would never buy their dies again.

Both of the other 2 sets of Hornady dies I have (.17 Hornet and .22 K-Hornet) have the vent hole. So both of the reasons the tech guy gave me are BS. He said the small shoulder and short case were the reason the left it out. I think they cheaped out and expect us to just deal with it...

Tony

Last edited:

1100 tac

I had a set of .223 New Dimension dies that the sizing die would set the shoulder back .020 if the shell holder was set to touch the die, and it was the stickin'est durn size die in the known world, no matter what I used for case lube.

I'm sticking with Forster from here on out...

BOOMST1CK

Can you drill your own vent hole? I know if it needs it you should not have to do it yourself, but.. Just curios.

Geezerbiker

It's normally drilled to match the shoulder angle and goes from the outside of the case down to the shoulder. All sizer dies for bottle neck rounds should have it. It's not needed for straight wall cases.