Why do governments want to outlaw our guns?

MatthewM

Back in 1950 there were few gun laws and the tax rates were pennies compared to today. Yet, Ayn Rand knew what evil forces drives government to confiscate our arms.

Where did she learn that? Her earlier life in Russia, or Hitler? She saw it happening here as well. How insightful.

Ayn on "money is the root of all good", p413, Atlas Shrugged:

"Then you will see the rise of the men of the double standard---the men who live by force, yet count on those who live by trade to create the value of their looted money---the men who are the hitchhikers of virtue. In a moral society, these are the criminals, and the statutes are written to protect you against them. But when a society establishes criminals-by-right and looters-by-law---men who use force to seize the wealth of disarmed victims---then money becomes its creators' avenger. Such looters believe it safe to rob defenseless men, once they've passed a law to disarm them. But their loot becomes the magnet for other looters, who get it from them as they got it. Then the race goes, not to the ablest at production, but to those most ruthless at brutality. When force is the standard, the murderer wins over the pickpocket. And then that society vanishes, in a spread of ruins and slaughter.

I'm scanning in about 50 pages of the best for constant re-reading. Couldn't help post here in re firearms....

David Scott

IMHO, folks who assume some sort of conspiracy to disarm Americans so that they may be dominated are missing a point. I think it's much more likely that anti-gun laws get passed because legislators want to look "tough on crime" before the next election. Banning guns is a lot quicker and easier and less expensive than actually addressing and fixing the root problems of society -- the problems that cause crime, like underfunded, overadministrated schools that bleed dropouts into the streets with no chance of getting a job that anyone can live on.

Scott Conklin