Why are police trade-ins good buys?

Viper99

Hello All, Newbie here with a question.

I would think that police trade-ins have many thousands of rounds thrugh them as well as holster wear on the finish.

Why are they consider good buys? which ones are normally traded? what would fair price be?

Thanks

DrBundy

Most beat cops never fire their duty weapons other than for qualifying once a year, therefore round count is usually low. Holster wear is normal, but for the prices that trade-ins usually go for, a less than perfect finish is worth it. For example, a police trade in Beretta 92 can be found for around $300. At that price, so what if it's got finish wear??? Send it off to be refinished in any color under the rainbow for $200 or less and you now have a (more) custom gun that has many tens of thousands of rounds left to go before changing so much as a spring.

~A

roman3

They are good buys because,

1. They are usually cheaper than standard used versions of the same gun.

2. Often have night sights on them which does not effect the price much but does sometimes on used.

3. Cops do not shoot thousands of rounds (well most don't) on average. Police departments vary on number of rounds they shoot per year but its not as much as a dedicated civilian shooter often shoots. I was an LEO in both Federal and State level agencies and never for duty did I fire thousands of rounds in many years.

4. Holster wear is usually the biggest downside and that depends on the type of holster used and age and type of finish the weapon has.

Kreyzhorse

Why are they consider good buys?

I've had great success with my Glock 22. It has very little holster wear and aside from replacing the mags, the gun has run flawlessly.

For the right price, I wouldn't hesitate about buying another police trade in.

fightingbard

[/quote]