Which 9x18mm?

Red_Eagle

Which is the better pistol? The Bulgarian Makarov or Czech CZ-82? I'm seeing both on gun broker in the $3-400 range.

Ricklin

CZ-82

I have no experience with the Bulgi Mak, the CZ 82 is an excellent pistol. One can do far better than 3-400 bucks on one tho. The CZ-82 is one of the best buys out there. Ammo is cheap and available, good capacity, reasonably concealable, and very accurate. The DA trigger pull is very good for a mil-surp.

raftman

J&G apparently got a batch of Bulgarian Maks in and is pricing them at $260. AIM also has some for $10 more. There's upsides to each gun. It ultimately is a question of concealability vs. capacity.

The Bulgarian Makarov is smaller, lighter, more concealable. It's also extremely reliable, durable, simple, and quite accurate too. Has an 8+1 ammo capacity.

The CZ-82 is as reliable, durable and accurate, but a good deal more complex in terms of parts. Its size makes it more difficult to conceal. 12+1 ammo capacity, though.

Red_Eagle

The makarov is sounding really good. This will be mainly a carry gun. I've heard the 82 is finished with laquer. The mak is regualr blueing, correct?

bdb benzino

The Mak would be a great chioce if you plan to conceal carry.
I have an E. German and I love it, and still carry it often.
It is the only semi-auto I have ever heard is as reliable as a revolver.:cool:

Alot of people will tell you to go for the CZ for the extra capacity, I like the Mak because it is a single stack and is very slim. The CZ is a great choice, but if you like slim, reliable, accurate, and a breeze to shoot, then look no further than a Mak.:D

Here's mine!!
Picture of my model 10 009.jpg

AcridSaint

I like them both, you won't be unhapy with either. $400 is too much in my opinion.

For what it's worth, the CZ is quite slim for a double stack pistol. The frame is relieved so that the grips sit in it and slim it up nicely. The weights of the pitsols are also similar.

christcorp