Where do you carry your 1911?

Full-choke

I am looking to start carrying my Taurus PT1911 more often. I don't know where the best place to carry it is for CCW. I was thinking an underarm holster but I hear a lot about back and neck strain. What other options are out there for a viable concealed carry for a full size 5" 1911?

Thanks,
F-C

orionengnr

1600 to 1630 in: (in order of preference)

--Alessi Watch Six (precursor to the Milt Sparks Watch Six)

--Milt Sparks VMII
--(just received yesterday) CrossBreed SuperTuck

As soon as I have a few extra bucks, I will be buying a Striker 1 from UBG. I bought one for my my Kahr P45, and look forward to one for a 1911. That is the closest to the Watch six that I have found. :)

Mello2u

I have been carrying a full sized 1911 in an IWB holster for over 20 years at the 3 o'clock position.

I used a Bruce Nelson Summer Special for a long time, and in the last couple of years replaced it with a Milt Sparks Summer Special II.

Do not forget to get a good quality gun belt. It needs to be stiff and a couple of inches longer than your regular dress belts to allow for the IWB holster.

MLeake

+1 on the gun belt. A thin, soft belt that flexes makes any gun seem heavier and bulkier.

I use a leather belt from Sam Andrews for dressier occasions, and a polyurethane reinforced rigger's belt with a non-metallic buckle from Talon Tactical in normal, casual mode.

Either one works very well. Sam's work always looks good. The TT belt doesn't set off metal detectors (though some TSA points may still make you take off the belt) and also does not interfere with the magnets in the false lower buttons of some of my shirts.

Disclosure: Sam Andrews is a friend of mine; so is Mike, at Talon.

I met Cerisse, owner of Soteria Leather last Summer at a MAG-40 class. She makes nice OWB holsters; I am not sure if she makes IWB. Several participants of the class liked the OWB she was using enough that we placed orders on the spot.