What's your longest shot with iron sights

bspillman

I'm just getting into rifle shooting and I want to get good good with iron sights before trying any optics. I picked up a great looking stock mosin m91/30. Just curious as to the distance I should start out learning rifle shooting?

TXAZ

I hit a large pond at a mile+ Does that count?

In all seriousness, start out at something short like 100 yards and work on your precision to get a good group, then start adding distance.
Your Mosin should be very solid at 100-500 yards.

Last edited:

Pathfinder45

Not all iron sights are equal. Some are a whole lot better than others. Some of the more basic iron sights aren't very good at 100 yards, even in the best of light. Many aperture sights can easily double your useful range.

Pathfinder45

Post Script: I recommend initial sighting-in at 25 yards, then quickly moving on to 50, then 75, then 100 yards. After that, you will likely be disappointed until you upgrade your sights.

Reloadron

Pathfinder45:
Not all iron sights are equal. Some are a whole lot better than others. Some of the more basic iron sights aren't very good at 100 yards, even in the best of light. Many aperture sights can easily double your useful range.

That covers it pretty well. My longest? During 9 years in the Marine Corps I qualified with a M14 over a course of 200, 300 and 500 Meters once a year. This involved shooting off hand, sitting, kneeling and at the 500 meter line the prone position.

If you wish to learn to shoot and shoot well I suggest you find a local club which host Appleseed shoots and NRA High Power Matches which teach good shooting habits and can be a hell of a lot of fun. You will also have good coaching and teaching which make a big difference in learning how to shoot well. Things like sight picture and alignment, holding and squeezing as well as hopw to control your breathing.

Ron

bspillman