What's your favorite rifle rest?

What's your favorite rifle rest?

• Total voters

shredder4286

I've been considering getting one of the "lead sled" type rests to steady my rifle with at the range. In the past, I've simply used a padded block for a front rest, and a sandbag for the rear. What's your preffered method for steadying a rifle at the range?

Please include explanations as to why you're partial to the type of rest that you voted for.

That'll Do

So far all I've tried it bags in the front and rear, and that works well for me. I still want to invest in a proper rest, like a Caldwell Lead Sled, or something similar. Gotta have variety.

Ideal Tool

Hello Shredder4286. I have been using a Hart cast-iron front rest for about twenty years now. In the early 90's, I modified it with a custom windage top(Ransom base, my own machined top plate, & changed out elevation screw for a 1" Acme thread..overkill I know..but with Protector bag mounted, it's very heavy and stable. Rear bag is bunny ear protector filled with heavy foundry sand. For the single-shots with lots of recoil, I like the Bull's Bag bench model, also filled with sand.

shredder4286

Rear bag is bunny ear protector filled with heavy foundry sand.

So, with the set-up you've been using, you just set the butt of your rifle in the bunny ear rear rest, then adjust for elevation with the front rest? That sounds like it might be a better/easier way of doing things than trying to adjust the rear.

Ideal Tool