What's a S&W Model 25 of 1955 going for?

Casimer

I realize that some of these are probably very collectible. What are 'garden variety' models typically selling for?

Is there a premium for the 45 Colt over the 45 ACP, or vice versa?

Also were there 4" a/o 5" 25's of 1955, or are these all 6" or 6.5"?

thanks

glockopop

To my knowledge, (I'm no expert) there were only 6 1/2" and 6" guns made. From what I've seen, and I have been looking lately, they are going for $600-$750 and up depending on condition. I think the Model of 1955 Target or 25-2 is .45 ACP only. Other Models 25 are in .45 Colt. 4" M25 and M625 Mountain Guns can be had in .45 Colt, and there is also the much rarer M625 Mountain Gun in .45 ACP.

Here's one up for sale now:

http://www.auctionarms.com/search/displayitem.cfm?itemnum=8484179

nate45

The Model 25 was made with 4,5,6,6.5 and 8-3/8" lengths and in .45 acp and .45 Colt.

My Dad had a 125th Anniversary and a Model of 1989 with a 5 in barrel, unfluted cylinder .45 Colt. I really liked that Mod. of 1989.

They are worth $550 to over $2000 depending on the condition and rarity. Usually the older pre 25 5-screws and early S prefix 4-screws are the ones that bring the high prices.

I would really like to have an early 4in one in .45 colt.

Here is my 5-screw .44 Magnum made in 1956 the first year of production.
pre29-a.jpg

It really doesn't have anything to do with your question I just like showing it off.:p

Casimer

I'd noticed that auction as well, which is what caused me to realize that I probably didn't have a good idea of the going price. There seem to be so many variants of the 25 floating around that it's difficult to sort them out.

BTW if you're considering that auction, try to determine if there are patches of rust on the RH side near the cylinder and in one of the cylinder flutes. I'd inquired on this specifically and the seller's response was very vague.

Hammer It

Hello