Whats a good first semi-auto handgun? (budget)

codyb1991

I have a bunch of rifles and shotguns and I have a sudden urge to get a handgun, I know for sure I do not want a revolver. I'm thinking either a 9mm, .40 or a .45, I'm going to use it for home defense mainly and take it out shooting whenever I go. I have some experience with semi-auto handguns shooting and dis-assembly/cleaning. Kinda on a budget also. Any suggestions?

BarryLee

With no more details than you have provided I would say look at used guns maybe a Police trade-in. As for caliber 9mm probably makes the most sense for your first gun.

10-96

+1 what Barrylee said.

Also, just a quick peek around Buds Guns came up with Century Arms Arcus 9mm, a Smith & Wesson 5906 (in Century Arms), Several Bersa 9mm's, An EEA Witness 9mm. The Used section showed a Ruger P89, and a Daewoo DP51 9mm- all these were below $400.

sigarms228

Wow. You don't give us much to go with other than - budget.

Price range?

Poly or metal frame or don't care?

Hammer fired or striker fired or don't care?

Do you want an external safety or don't care?

More compact or more full size or don't care?

As always it is best to handle all you can, then try out those that appeal to you, and then make a decision.

For a new "budget" pistol IMHO a SIG SP2022 in 9MM is among the top of the list to check out if you don't mind a hammer fired poly frame pistol.

willmc33

Smith & Wesson 5906 9mm. Can pretty much be had to fit most anyones budget, all steel, revolver reliable, accurate, great trigger, great sites, extremely durable.

Ambishot

Ummm....

Are you budgeting for the price of ammo costs or gun platform/make/model/etc?

If the former, then I'd suggest a 9mm.

If the latter, then I'd suggest a gun from a proven manufacturer. :)

Good luck in your search. If you're looking for opinions on something more specific i.e. DA/SA, Polymer framed, metal framed etc., then I'd be happy to be more informative.

CWKahrFan