What will it be? Your opinions, please

Bellasogno

Hey folks,

I'm looking to buy a 308 to be used primarily for target shooting, out to 300 yards. Since this is poking holes, I want a heavy barrel, floated and accurate. Budget, including nice high-power scope is $1,200 or so. (I'm getting older, and just dig magnification). I've looked at the Remington 700 and the Savage 12 FVSS. The Savage wins in my book with a stainless barrel. Very pretty. Before I go buy one of these, what's your call?

Side note - for 1st time shot at the 300 yard range with my 30-06, and am now hooked on longer range shooting vs. 100 yds. Yeah, I know, you folks shoot out to 800 or 1/2 mile or whatever.... I plan to shoot out to 300 yards.

By the way, I'm a newbie to this whole shooting thing, so keep it in plain English, please. Many thanks. And God Bless our veterans.

LAH

You can't go wrong with the Savage. Simple enough? You may also consider a Howa Classic Laminate Varminter.

Drhc116

Savage or Remington, either one would serve you well. for your 1200 dollar price range I think savage is the way to go for you along with a nice Vortex PST optic on top.

Just so you know. I am a remington fan and shoot a 5R milspec in .308 but it is near impossible to argue the value and performance features you get with savage for the $.

AllenJ

Either of those two rifles is going to do what you want, pick the one you like and don't look back. As for scopes I agree the Vortex is a great choice.

TheNatureBoy

"That takes Remington off the auction block for factory floated rifles..." Really? I own a Remington 700 5R/.308 with a 24" stainless barrel that's free floated and shoot extremely well.

Bellasogno

OP here - revised wish gun:

Ideally, a wood stock, free-floated, fluted, stainless barrel with ergonomic grip/stock. Willing to up the ante to $1,400.

Bellasogno

"Savage 12BVSS."

============================================