Votes: 77 49.7%
  • Defensive 147g

Votes: 28 18.1%
  • Other

Votes: 10 6.5%

• Total voters
  • Poll closed .

Shadow9mm

So I have been shooing 9mm since I got my first handgun. I have shot many others since them, but 9mm just kind of has a special place for me. When I started shooting I was die hard 115g. Mainly because it was before I started reloading and 115g was the most commonly available weight and had the best price generally. Now that I reload I have gone all 124g. I don't buy or shoot 115g. A few years back my agency went from 40 to 9mm and they selected 147g bullets. Having shot a good bit of them now, I am really considering trying 147s out.

What weight do you guys shoot for training and defensive? Any data, personal experiences, or personal preferences?

44 AMP

Staff
I voted "other" because I neither train with, nor use the 9mm Luger round defensively.

while in the past I have loaded JHP, LRN, JSP, and plated RN for the last few decades all my 9mm Luger use has been recreational. My 9mm handguns currently are a Luger pistol, a Walther P.38 (ac 42) and until recently a rebored Bolo C-96 Mauser broomhandle, and a 9mm Luger barrel for my Contender.

I shoot 115gr or 124gr FMJ at original German 9mm Parabellum velocities, and no +p (let alone anything hotter) stuff is going in my WWII guns. I could load the 9mm hotter in my Contender, but there's no point. When I want something more than 9mm Luger in my Contender, I just change barrels to a more powerful cartridge, of which, I have several. :D

never bothered with the 147gr slugs either. For me, they are pointless.