What powder should I buy as a new guy?

maillemaker

So I'm just getting into reloading with my Lee Pro 1000 reloader. I'm going to be reloading 45 ACP.

What kind of powder do you recommend for a new guy? I'm just trying to replicate the Winchester White Box ammo I buy at Walmart for putting holes in paper.

Steve

spacecoast

Titegroup is excellent. I use 4.7 grains under both a 185 LSWC and a 230 LRN for .45 ACP. I imagine it would be fine for the 200 gr. LSWC as well. Very economical.

Real Gun

The mil spec load is 5.0 gr of Bullseye. It works fine, measures beautifully, has good volume, is reasonably economical. I haven't found a good reason to wander off from that standard, given my preference for standard 230 gr FMJ.

Probably the most efficient with good performance is W231 with lead bullets, but that just gets too involved with shortages caused by popularity among heavy (insane) volume shooters.

Popular powders in the same general burn rate range as Bullseye include Red Dot and Titegroup.

Lots of choices work, but I will suggest what is close to standard. I am not trying to cool off the .45 or reduce recoil or any of that. I like it when it goes BOOM! with some authority.

demigod

I agree. HP-38 is the same stuff in a different container.

My first loads were made with Hercules Powder. I was getting soot from the 45 ACP ammo I made. It freaked me out. Then I bought some 231 and never looked back.

maillemaker

Thanks for all the responses!

The mil spec load is 5.0 gr of Bullseye. It works fine, measures beautifully, has good volume, is reasonably economical. I haven't found a good reason to wander off from that standard, given my preference for standard 230 gr FMJ.

Sounds good to me! I'm not looking to do anything special yet - I'm just trying to get cheaper ammo for my .45 than the Winchester Whitebox I buy at Walmart.

Steve