What it called

toybox99615

OK I was watching the tube and saw on a shooting program a timed event in which your weapon is placed inside a box on top of the bench. When the shot timer goes off you are to remove the weapon and make a hit on a steel plate. The time between the buzzer and the shot is your score.

We have a timer and a great indoor range (www.kisaorg.com) where I am a range officer. A few of us are thinking this might be an interesting event to hold on the days we do falling plates.

So does anyone know the name of this event? Maybe even some of the rules?

Last edited:

SDC

I don't think there IS even a name for it, but it can certainly be a fun way to spend some time. I shot in an IPSC match one time that had 3 identical boxes on a table, and after the buzzer went, you had to find your pistol and ammo (the empty pistol was in one box, all the ammo (loaded magazines/moonclips) you could use was in another box, and the third box was empty), and then you were free to engage the targets.

yar

Whenever you do a retrieve gun from box for a match you need to be careful. It's not something people practice a lot. I don't remember if it was frontsight magazine or one of the ipsc world shoot DVD's but they pointed out the hole in one of the boxes where the shooter ND'ed. This would be scarry.

Maybe having the gun unloaded at start would be better.

k Squared

Which Program Were You Watching?

Toy Box,

If you remember which program you were watching, you might be able to get more information from one of the web sites below.

I haven't been able to watch any of these shows lately (living overseas) but seem to remember a couple competitions where guns were drawn from a box to fired. Shooting USA and Shooting Gallery are probably to first places to look.

http://shootingusa.com/

http://www.gunsandammomag.com/tv/

http://www.nrapublications.org/TAR/tartv.asp

http://www.downrange.tv/shootinggallery/

toybox99615

Thanks for the leads