What Is the Proper Grip?

Incursion

I was at the range the other day and 3 range officers told me to grip the gun the same way. I'm new to shooting, so the only stuff I know is what I've read off message boards and websites. I've been trying to emulate the grip shown in the Rainbow Six promotional picture on the hkpro site (http://www.hkpro.com/r6usp.htm right thumb bent downwards with left thumb hooked over it). The RO's told me to put my right thumb as far up as possible keeping it parallel with the slide right below the cocking serrations of my P7. They also told me to put my right thumb right on top of the curvature behind the left thumb, and to put the left thumb against the bottom of the frame below the slide and above the trigger guard. They also told me to rotate my left hand counterclockwise to keep the mini beaver tail pressed down against my right hand. This grip does not feel very comfortable to me, but I don't know what I should believe.

SigmundSauer

Putting words into images, it sounds as though they have you pointed in the right direction. If possible, keep your thumbs pointed straight along the slide towards the muzzle. Just don't inadvertently ride the slide stop.

More importantly -- experiment and do what best allows you to hit the target!

SS

DAKODAKID

??????

I shoot my HK USP the same way the rainbow 6 pix shows.

I thought I went over this on the HKPRO
board but it seems to be deleted.......

ouch..

I went over this in much detail, and now
it's gone....

Anyway, a good source for shooting a handgun will
always be....

http://www.bullseyepistol.com

I am starting to understand why Larry at ccfa
is not posting over there....
ouch...

This is to add to what you have already been told...