What is the deal with not wanting to pull the trigger during takedown?

Jayhawkhuntclub

I keep hearing about how certain guns don't require you to pull the trigger to remove the slide and how this is a great feature. I don't get it. If you are so stupid as to not check the chamber before you take it apart you shouldn't be handling guns in the first place. I know mistakes happen, but seriously.:eek:

+1k ammo

I know logic just does not seem to be the absolute truth when dealing with humans.

How many people would still be alive if there were some type of very visible way to double check. (ok, say all guns were made with clear plastic and you could actually see the bullet in the chamber)

I don't know the stats, but there would be a lot.

And no one has ever pressed the gas when looking for the brake in a car and ended up running people over!

People make mistakes and the things we design (I am a designer) should rule out the possibility of making the mistake. That is good design.

I was brought up around guns so it is second nature, but people who have not just forget sometimes.

greyeyezz

pancake_bunny_zpsacd807d2.jpg

Fishbed77

All troll alerts aside, the answer is:

Rule 3.

http://thefiringline.com/Misc/safetyrules.html

If you are so stupid as to not check the chamber before you take it apart you shouldn't be handling guns in the first place.

Maybe, maybe not. Last year, a man died at a local indoor range when disassembling a Glock pistol after failing to check the chamber.

http://www.thestate.com/2012/12/01/2538525/columbia-man-killed-in-shooting.html