What do you think they meant?

44 AMP

Staff
Did some thinking the other day, and I got to wondering about the difference in the language in our Bill of Rights. So, I would like your opinions on what you think they meant.

What is the difference between "Congress shall make no law" and "shall not be infringed"?

They seem to mean the same thing, but because of the different language, there is an implied difference. So, come on you legal eagles, barracks lawyers, and just anybody with an opinion, what do you think the difference is, and why.

And what should the difference be?

Glock 31

Not sure I should really opine on this specific topic, as I am not experienced with law in anyway. Nor do I know by heart the wording of every amendment and right. But I would think it's too much like comparing apples and oranges with all the time that has passed since this country's founding. Issues back then are not the same as they are today. And those that are the same, were no where near as complicated then, as they are now. Sorry, just admitting my ignorance.:cool:

GoSlash27

"Congress shall make no law" implies that the rights it refers to can be infringed, but not by the Federal government.
"Shall not be infringed" implies that the government must leave the right alone regardless of level.
Or so I've always been told.

Amendment 14 art.1 supercedes that, implying that *all* rights are inviolable, including those not specifically mentioned (9th Amdt).

Of course, what really matters is how our government interprets it. They don't really seem to care.

steelheart

What is the difference between "Congress shall make no law" and "shall not be infringed"?
"Congress shall make no law" = Congress has no legislative authority in this matter.

"Shall not be infringed" = shall not be interfered with, tampered with or screwed with in ANY way by ANY person, group of persons or organization.

Seems pretty straightforward to me...

Last edited:

Hugh Damright