what can you tell me about Vaquero's and the 45 colt cartridge?

RedneckFur

Had an Ak around the house that I simply didnt shoot much anymore, especially after getting an AR.

Traded the AK with a local fella for a stainless 'old' model Ruger Vaquero in .45 colt.

I'd been wanting a big bore handgun for a while, and orginally was holding out for either a 45acp or a 44mag, but the Vaquero was just too nice to pass up.

I've had some experience shooting single action only revolvers, so operation of the ruger seems fairly simple.

Any pros and cons for this revolver? Anything I should watch out for? I've heard that the 'old' style vaquero can handle stout loads aproaching 44 magnum power, but the 'new' vaquero cannot. Is this true?

Havent had time to take it to the range yet, but I'll try and update with some pics and a range report soon.

Daryl

Really not much to tell you. I've had one since back around '02, and they're built solid as tanks. Yes, the original Vaquero will handle loads up to 32,000 psi, and the New Vaquero needs to stick with more traditional pressures.

Loaded mild or wild, the .45 Colt is a fun cartridge to shoot. I hope you enjoy your's as much as I've enjoyed mine!

Daryl

chiefr

I think you got a good deal. The old model is better suited for reloading and stout loads as you put it, plus the longer cylinder will allow for longer bullets.

timothy75

Vaqueros are cool guns but sometimes dont hit the same place as the sites are aimed. On your first outing take a big piece of cardboard and shoot from a solid rest at 50 yards. This will tell you right away where its hitting and let you know what you can use it for in the future. Good luck and have fun.

jmortimer

I have owed both old and new and the old models had crappy tolerances but are built like tanks. The new models are perfect in every way as far as I'm concerned and tolerances are right on. New and old are both worth owing.

Jim March

Yeah, couple of points.