What AR parts to hold as spares in case not available?

Pistoler0

I am new to the AR platform, I just got myself one in 7.62x39 which I haven't even shot yet. I want to install an "enhanced" firing pin and extractor spring before shooting it with cheap berdan primer ammo.

Which brings me to the following question:

Suppose some sort of AR law is passed, restricting sale of AR and their parts, but with grand fathering of the rifles already owned by the public. Then which parts do you think are a must to have a spares for wear and tear?

I know that ideally having a spare for every part would be best, but what I am trying to ask is:
which parts of the AR are "consumables"?

Last edited:

odugrad

Enough to build a second rifle, ideally.

Spare bolts (at least 2), complete BCG if you can swing it.

A couple lower parts kits.

A few sets of gas rings

Some spare gas tubes

A few buffer springs and buffers

Some extractor springs.

Firing pin retaining pins, cam pins

You can never have enough but that should be a good start.

jonnyc

You probably won't ever need anything, but gas rings and extractor springs are probably the most "consumable" items on an AR. You might also want to have a couple of firing-pin retaining clips around......just in case.

TruthTellers

All manner of springs including the buffer spring, firing pins, extractors/ejectors, and the bolt. You never know if a round you fire might have been a double charge and it cracks the bolt or shears the lugs off.

HWS

Springs. The more springs the better. Gas rings for sure. The idea of a second AR is not a bad one.

STORM2