Warning: Noob question enclosed.

jfrey123

Hey guys,

I've been checking out the forum now for a few days, ever since stumbling onto it through a google search. First of all, thanks for having such varied opinions and being pretty much knowledgable in almost every subject I can think of.

Now, my question is simply this: Is there a fairly low cost, magazine fed, semi-automatic rifle ( Approx $300-350 ) that shoots a round with a good amount of punch ( drop a mountain lion kind of power, but not specifically for hunting use ) that doesn't cost a small fortune to plink with every month or two? Pretend I'm brand new to firearms, since I am kind of just now getting back into them. I had a psycho ex girlfriend who hated firearms and was completely against us owning any.

Since her departure of last year, I got my ol' Marlin 25N back from my grandpa, bought a Remington Model 597 to upgrade my .22 shooting, and just last month bought a new Glock 17 Nite-Site for my 21st birthday. After firing the 9mm pistol, the .22's just don't have the magic they used to carry. Found what I researched to be a Hi-Point 9mm Carbine at one of our gun stores for around $220, but forums here say this may not be such a great choice.

Any help would be appreciated, and thanks in advance. :cool:

VUPDblue

Problem #1--
I had a psycho ex girlfriend who hated firearms and was completely against us owning any.

Problem #2--
After firing the 9mm pistol, the .22's just don't have the magic they used to carry.