War and its Aftermath

IanS

First off I'd like to say I fully support Pres. Bush's war against Al Qaeda and his succesful expelling of the Taliban in Afghanistan. I also support his Administrations' push for a full out war against Saddam Hussein. Whether he is a clear and present danger to the United States I honestly cannot say but his past crimes and the potential future threat he poses for Americans and others are very real I believe. And I don't care what corporate interests benefit from from a regime change in Iraq. He's a bad guy. Fine.

I'm not an expert on international affairs. I get news and information like most everyone; TV, radio, internet, and print. My point is while our military is capable of doing a bang up job of accomplishing its immediate goals I think the U.S. too often fail to properly support whatever government it helps prop up. I'm hearing too many reports (albeit from "liberal" sources) of the U.S. failing to send the money and "the know how" in rebuiding Afghanistan's infrastructure that it promised. That while Kabul is "secure" (relatively speaking) the rest of the country is in absolute chaos with warlords running amuck and basically acting worse than the Taliban (relatively speaking). And worse its civilians and returning refugees have nothing to rebuild with. The U.S. solved its short term goals with respect to security and politics but what about preventable consequences? These same concerns also haunt a potential future war with Iraq.

The U.S. has the right to wage war against its enemies but how it treats the civilians of its enemies (who often have absolutely no power compared to American citizens) does have its moral consequences as well as practical. And its the very fact its civilians have no economic or political power that they're victims and food for the powerful and easily ignored by everyone else.