Wanting a Bolt rifle

JesusQueen

So I've been shopping around for a bolt action rifle for a few months now. I dont own any bolt guns and want to buy right the first time.

This is what I know.. I want a 308, minimum 22 inch barrel with 26 preferred. No wood stocks, prefer the black with stainless barrel look. Id like it to be sub-moa for sure.

My problem is every time I think Ive made up my mind i see something else and cant settle. Ive look at the CZ 550, Tikka T3, Savage Precision 12, and all the 700 variants.

ATM I think I like to 700 HB Police.

So, whats a great rifle for under $1K?
And also can a 700 be slapped together like an AR if I wanted?

EDIT: I dont reload and dont have the time so the accuracy wants should be with federal gold medal. thanks

If you want out of the box accuracy, coupled with an awesome trigger then go for the Savage Model 12. Mine shoots sub MOA and I haven't done a thing to it except for change the stock to a more comfortable one...

Remington's can be iffy on out of the box accuracy. Most will need a trigger job or a replacement trigger to get the pull weight down to an acceptable level for a benchrest gun. If the OTB accuracy is not good, then you're looking at spending money to have it truly free floated and pillar bedded.

Rob96

Last November I was in the market for the same thing. I bought the 700 ADL Varmint in 308 at Dick's for $419. Even with the factory synthetic stock I get .59 moa. Haven't even messed with the X-Mark Pto trigger.

Rimfire5

I bought a Savage 10 FP in August for $700.
It has averaged 0.7 inches for over 200 groups of hand loaded ammo.

My shooting buddy bought a 10 FPC from Dick's sporting goods two weeks later after shooting mine. He got his on sale with a scope for under $ 650.
His also has averaged just under 0.8 inches with factory ammo.

Both shoot sweet and their accutriggers are great. Just over 2 lbs from the factory.

I'm going to buy a .223 to match it.