Walther P99QA?s

jack_the_sailor

I understand this is a DAO with a quick action trigger. What does a quick action trigger mean? How manny #s is the trigger pull? Is there an extended paddle style mag catch made & extended slide stop made? Can the trigger weight be lightened? I need to replace my Glock-17 w/ a 3.5 # trigger because the grip is too wide & my accuracy isn't what I would like it to be. They only way to correct the problem is get a different carry gun. Also s the grip narrower than the G-17?

Jack, from my understanding the QA is very similar to the Glock, ie, it is halfcocked not a true DA unless the decocker is used. I have no experience with the QA so that is just what I've read or heard.

Extremist

The Walther P99QA has approx 8lb of single stroke trigger pull. It is "Glock like" although it has a crisper snap than the Glock, which is more "mushy".

I played with one extensively at the Shot Show and still haven't decided if I want to get one. I prefer the SA/DA of the standard P99, which has a DA pull of about 11-12lb, and a SA pull of about 5lb.

If you've ever dry fired or shot a Steyr M/S series pistol, the P99QA is almost identical to them.

Oh, and yes, I think the grip is narrower and thinner, and you can adjust the backstrap to you suiting (3 sizes come with the pistol).

Regards,
James

jack_the_sailor