Voere 30.06; any comments?

PolarFBear

I am a hand gunner with the requisite AR-15 (Colt), Mini-14 and a couple of Mossburgs thrown in. But, I have a hankering to own a bolt gun. I am NOT a hunter. I found a scoped (forgot the name but it looked good) VOERE in 30.06; price $499. Bluing looks excellent, bolt works well, the hinged floor plate operated easily; wood finish was only marred on the left side in a small area. It seems to really catch my fancy; but I have no experience nor can I find any information on the Voere company other than it is Austrian. Positive AND negative inputs are welcomed. I had first given thought to a Remington BDL in .308.

skizzums

If not a hunter, i have to ask why the caliber choice? Other than that, they sound like solid rifles built on a Mauser 98 action. A google search shows many happy customers that give high marks for accuracy. Lots of forum threads on the brand

PolarFBear

Skizzims, Why 30.06? Because that is what it is chambered in. My preference would be .308. Do I NEED a bolt action rifle? Heck no. Probably will only fire it 50 times in my (remaining) lifetime. But, my 64th birthday is Thursday and I'm "looking around". Thanks for the steer to Google. I always forget about Google.

tango1niner

They were imported into this country in the 60's and appear to be well made. Receivers are drilled and tapped for scope bases and some had metric threads. Calling about the country I was unable to find a proper scope base screw. I called the original importer of the rifle and was given a lead which turned into a dead end. I ended up using a flathead screw with good results. Screw size was M4X.7 if I remember correctly. Recievers are pretty hard so retapping to another size is not an option.

Nice fairly light rifle, accuracy was good with factory ammo.

With no place for service and being metric I would buy American. You could probably get a nice Savage model 11 in a caliber you like for less $$.

natman