Visiting Florida in January...Update on Non-Resident CCW?

My employer is sending me to Florida for a couple of weeks at the end of January.

I'd like to know if there's any updated laws in place about a non-resident getting a CCW for Florida. I'm currently an Iowa resident, but due to our anti-gun sherrif I currently do not have my permit.

From what I understand, Florida is pretty lenient on out of state reciprosity. However, in my case, is there a bump in the road? Also, is the process painless enough that I can get it issued to me in time for my trip?

I looked over your links and it looks like I have to go down to Florida in order to submit my fingerprints. It claims any LE agency can be used, but always implies any of the 67 counties in Florida.

Is it acceptable to get my fingerprints done on a hard card here in Iowa and then send it in?

sholling

I got mine without leaving California. All you need is a class and fingerprints. The fingerprints can be done at any police or sheriff's station.

Sevens

Good news and bad news. Bad news first-- no way you have your non-resident Florida carry permit by January. No way. Sorry.

Good news-- you can certainly get it, and with it, you'll be able to carry in many places across the country. Check handgunlaws.us for an idea of where your permit will be valid. Note that there are a couple of states that honor a Florida permit, but only for Florida residents-- or, to put it another way, they honor a Florida permit but they don't honor a Florida NON-RESIDENT permit.

For you to get your Florida non-resident permit, you will have to attend some kind of safety training and forward a copy of that certificate. I wish I could be more specific, but all I know is that the training required by my state (Ohio) is sufficient, so I forwarded that certificate.

You can be fingerprinted at any place that does this with a standard fingerprint card, but it must also be notarized. That can get sticky.