varmint ?

hawken50

ok i'm kinda new to varminting so cut me some slack. my question is as follows - do "explosive" kills on woodchucks that i've heard of come from a light fast bullet or a heavy slow one? i just got a .243 so i have a pretty good range to choose from. i've found 55-100grn locally.

mathman

I'm no expert, but at fairly close range I don't think it matters much what 'high powered' rifle cartridge you use. (.308, .223, .243, etc...) To a varmint, these are all cannons!

fanoblack

I would say the explosive kills come from the light, fast moving bullets. Granted I have never been varmiting so take my opinion as you will.

fanoblack

cheygriz

The ultra light, fast moving bullets are first choice for varminting due to the light, fragile construction of the bullets causing almost "explosive" expansion. There is also far less danger of richochet than there is with slower, heavier bullets.

Death from Afar

Having had some experince of varminting, the specialst varmint bullets are deisgned to expand explosivly and do tend to pulverise the small furry ones. I really like the Hornady 55gn VS, but it is just too expensive for large volume shooting. I use the excellent hornady 55gn SPSX ( SX- super expansive) and that is just as effective as the VMAX projectile. It cannot be used on anything any faster than a .223- it disintergrates if pushed much faster than 3500 fps. I also really rate the sierra hollow point- game king- NOT match king which does not expand at all.

I have used various large and slow projectiles- once a pile of 155gn F4 .308 ( an excellent German FMJ load) and a Accuracy International AW on hares- it was not as spectacular as you might think- the big hefty projectiles killed the hares all right, but tiny exit holes.

Light, fast moving, and FAST EXPANDING bullets.