Valuable Lesson Learned

While this is embarrassing to admit, I figure it may help someone or at least bring some awareness.

I went to the range today with my Dad to enjoy some shooting, sight in a couple of optics, and get some trigger time with some new/as yet to be fired guns. Now, I am not a novice and have been shooting guns for over 20 years now.

I brought 3 guns chambered in 9mm and 1 chambered in 10mm.

9mm:
Glock 45 (Model 45, not 45 caliber)
Sig P320 X5
Not a pistol but a CZ Scorpion (Sighting in the Vortex Spitfire optic)

10mm:
Glock 40 MOS (Signing in the Vortex Venom red dot pistol sight)

I put all my weapons and magazines on the table as well as several boxes of 9mm (Speer blue box) and 10mm (Magtech blue box) and commenced to loading magazines.

I got all mags loaded and decided to only put 2 rounds in each of the glock 40 mags so I could shoot 2, then adjust sight on empty chamber. sighted in the CZ. I decided to put 3 more rounds in each of the glock mags, giving me 5 in each, as I am confident in my ability to keep my finger off the trigger while adjusting the sight. Now came time to sight in the Glock 40. Move closer to the target, charge the weapon, take aim, Bang. Round hits the target but it feels and sounds really week and does not cycle the slide. I cycle by hand, bang round hits target but again feels week and doesn't cycle. The last 2 rounds felt a lot stronger and had more recoil, louder, and cycled the slide.

At first, I thought, ok I got a bad batch of ammo. Then realized after 3 mags, there was a pattern and the last 2 rounds in each mag had considerably more power and cycled the slide and locked open on empty. Went to check the box of 10mm ammo to try a different box and realized only 6 rounds are missing from the magtech box.:eek:
Yep, I loaded 3 rounds of 9mm into the 10mm mags and the glock fed and fired them, all hitting the target but just not cycling the slide.