USP Question

branrot

I've been checking out the USP (which I like very much) and have noticed something interesting: most of them new run around 600-650 dollars or so with one exception (other than the tactical, socom, etc.): the variant 7. The variant 7 is the DAO (double action only) version, and I've seen it offered as low as 450-500.

I don't particularly care for DAO (although I have a S&W 342ti), and the pricing certainly reflects my preferences.

My question is: Why would anyone want a DAO gun when they could have a DA/SA? Now, the reason I got the DAO Smith was because I didn't want the hammer to snag on anything, but that's not a good answer with the USP because it's got a bobbed hammer. Your thoughts?

sean2001

Not all USP's have a bobbed hammer, I've owned a USP .45 and .40 They both had hammers. As for DAO I think people who like the triggers on revolvers buy them.

Archie

DAO autopistols are simple. No safties, no "make safe" operations. I have some experience with the S&W type DAO pistols. I am not really excited over the triggers, but I think I like the concept.
Having said that, I vastly prefer the single action only type pistol, being an old 1911 pistolero. I'm also a double action revolver shooter.
Personally, I find the DA-SA type pistol to be the MOST treacherous of all action styles. After firing, one must perform (to me) a more complicated make safe function.

------------------
Archie

355sigfan

DAO's are priced so cheap because shooters don't like them. Most of the people carring dao's are made to do so by an overly litigation worried police department.
PAT

------------------
I intend to go into harms way.

AndABeer

Over the years I have discovered that I do not care for two trigger pulls on one gun. Were I to ever buy a HK again it would be the DAO variant. In autoloaders, I like Glocks and 1911s (one trigger pull). In DA revolvers, I ignore the single action mode.

CMOS

"Why would anyone want a DAO gun when they could have a DA/SA?"