TX: HB823, signed or no?

Big Calhoun

Hey you all. I'm new in Texas and have been anxiously familiarizing myself with all applicable firearm laws. In my studies, I found a bill (HB 823) introduced by Keel last year that ammended existing statutues to define 'travelling' and provide a presumption of innocence that a person was 'travelling' when keeping a concealed weapon in the car while doing so.

However, I don't see that it was signed or vetoed by Gov. Perry. Does anyone know the status of this? I want to be riding legal...can't go for my CHL until August (will then be in TX for 6 months persuant to CHL rules). Thanks!

Doug.38PR

How can Rosenthal (Harris Co. DA) give an order to his officers to violate the laws of the state of Texas?

A couple of guys at the local gun store say that the problem with the law is that it doesn't define what traveling is? But I always understood traveling to legally mean between at least 3 counties. Nevertheless, it's irrelevant what traveling is or is not, the fact is police are supposed to presume people innocent.

All he is doing is oppressing good people like you and me because we have a gun.

Big Calhoun

I would have to concur. Granted, I'm not a native here but as I have read it, only the State of Texas can effect any laws relating to gun ownership, possession, and use. So I would have to say that they are breaking the law over there in Harris Co.

Relative to what is 'travelling'...I'm reading it all like this:

Section 46.15 of the Texas Penal Code relates to the nonapplicabilty of sections 46.02 and 46.03 which cover unlawful carrying and places where weapons are prohibitied, respectively.

HB823 ammends 46.15 to include the follow conditions under this nonapplicability:

1. in a private motor vehicle
2. not engaged in criminal activity (other then class C misdemeanor)
3. Not prohibited from possesing a firearm
4. Not a member of a gang
5. Not carry firearm in plain view