Turret Press

Nick_C_S

I've been loading for 30 years on a single stage - on an RCBS "Reloader Special 2". It's the only press I've owned (or ever used) and works as good as the day I got it.

I have pondered going progressive, and may this winter - we'll see. But that's another thread.

On this thread, I have to ask about turret presses: I feel like I'm missing something. Because the best I can determine, other than being able to screw in your dies all at once, rather than having to switch out dies, I fail to see how they have any advantage over a single stage press. So you can rotate the turret to quickly go from resize to flair - whoopie-doo!

What am I missing?

FrankenMauser

Because the best I can determine, other than being able to screw in your dies all at once, rather than having to switch out dies...
That, alone, is worth more than you might think.

I have a Redding T-7. I only have the turret head that came with the press - no extras. Rather than some of the competition that only allows 3 or 4 dies to be installed at any one time, I can use up to 7.

Right now, I have dies in the turret for .223 Rem and .458 SOCOM, a Lyman M die, and a CH-4D primer swage tool. And there's still an empty hole to quick jobs with other calibers, or, as I was doing last week :)(), pulling bullets.

I don't have a turret to use it as a slow progressive, rotating between dies to go from start to finish with a single case. I use it as a temporary storage location while working up new loads.
I set the dies, punch out a box of test ammo, and leave the dies set. I can test the ammo, make any adjustments necessary with primer changes, powder, or powder charge, and start right back where I left off - without even having to screw the die(s) back into the press. ...Rotate the head, install the appropriate shell holder (which I store on the decapping pin, if the die is in the press), and go.