Trying to learn about reamer pilots

BumbleBug

I've never chambered a rifle barrel before, but I am trying to learn how. Please explain somethin' to a complete noob. I've been study about chamber reamers & I noticed they come in types with either a "fixed" pilot or a "live" pilot. The live pilot makes perfect sense to me, but the fixed pilot is cheaper & seems to be more available. Is the fixed for roughing & the live for finishing? If not, is one preferred over another for specific jobs?

TIA...

...bug :confused:

Dixie Gunsmithing

Moderator Emeritus
A live pilot is used by some for the last portion of the job, where the pilot would ride on working rifling, as it is made to turn freely, and not against the lands. It can be the only reamer, but is considered weaker, but better for close tol., and fine finish.

Solid and live pilots are both used on finishing reamers. The live pilot reamers cost more. The live pilot can be used to within half a thousandth of the bore diameter of the barrel blank, where a solid pilot normally is ground one or two thousandths narrower than nominal bore diameter. This is to ensure fairly universal fit and to ensure enough clearance for a lubricating film of oil or cutting fluid to surround the pilot and allow it to slip freely inside the lands during cutting.

That description makes it sound like the live pilot has a significant advantage, until you remember it needs its own additional clearance between the pilot and the reamer for rotation. That is a pair of precision ground surfaces, allowing them to keep an oil film more concentric, so it's got the potential to be a little bit more true running than a solid pilot. I'm just pointing out that its not as much better as you'd think at first consideration of the matter.