Trying out my new AR - wind question

steelbird

Well, I went and joined the AR brotherhood - got the M&P Sport. Weather and work have prevented me from taking it out the range, but I may finally get a chance this Monday to get in some shooting. I'm planning on doing some sighting in, get a general feel for it. I'm still learning this platform, and was wondering at what point does wind play a factor in assessing accuracy - at what speed does it become a factor, if at all? It might be windy here, and I don't want to make a misinformed judgment on how well it's shooting for me based on that. I've shot .22LR long gun ( a Marlin 795 ), so I know wind can be a factor - but how different is it for .223/5.56?

JD0x0

It largely depends on the bullet's ballistic coefficient but also depends how long the bullet is being pushed by the wind and how strong the wind is. Meaning if you shot the same bullet at 2000fps then 4000fps, the faster one would have less drift over a given range compared to the slower one.
Use a ballistic calculator that accounts for wind to get a better idea on how wind will effect the bullet's flight.

In a 10mph 90 degree crosswind you're looking at about 1-2 inches of drift(with .223/5.56), depending on the bullet's BC. The higher the BC the less the wind will affect the bullet's flight, and on top of that, they will lose less velocity over a given range compared to a lower BC bullet. To give you an idea, a typical 9mm 124 grain bullet would have close to half a foot of wind drift, in the same conditions.

but how different is it for .223/5.56?