Triple 7 and Filler Question

mg66

First of all I must say I am new to this forum so, 'hello to all'. And I am also relatively new to black powder cap and ball shooting.

I am using a Uberti New Army steel frame and am going to try Triple 7 fffg by Hodgdon. The loads I want to use are 20-24 grains , a wonder wad with a Hornady .454" ball.

Hodgon have a safety warning to use NO filler. I even rang up Hodgdon and confirmed this.

Anyone have any thoughts on using filler on top of wad or should I say between wad and ball. Or should I not use any filler which will seat the ball further into the cylinder chamber?

Will seating the ball further into the cylinder chamber have any dire consequences to pressures and safety?

Remington kid

First off 20g is a light load for that Revolver but nothing wrong with that for target shooting or a starting load. You may want to go with 30g with that powder and it wont hurt a thing.
You don't need fillers and they were not used in the old days at all and wads came along later also. The wad is good because it does help sweep out the barrel.
Make sure you place some lube over the ball as well. It does help cut down on chain fires and some people feel that if you use a wad you don't need the lube but the lube helps keep the fouling down and makes you revolver run a little smoother.
You will not find any less accuracy as a a rule by not using any filler and you really don't need it so why ad more to the loading process.
Powder, wad, ball and grease will work great for your Army. When you ram the ball down make sure you press it down all the way....until it wont move anymore. With that load and powder you will probably run out of ram but that's fine because you will be seated enough and the powder compacted enough to work just fine.
Have fun and leave the cereal fillers for breakfast and the grass seed for spring lawn repair:) Mike

Wayner