Trimming & Deburring

fariaguard

New to reloading using a Redding T7 Turret Press. Will be reloading pistol and rifle brass.

Just ordered the Sinclair / L.E.Wilson Stainless Ultimate trimmer w/ micometer to trim brass. Not the cheapest but it makes the most sense for my OCD relationship with repeatable accuracy.

As a newbie my question is this. As the case is trimmed does this trimmer also de-burr the outside of the case mouth? I would rather hear from my peers than get an answer from customer service trying to sell a part however I must say Sinclair has been awesome so far. Sinclair does sell a separate handle for this trimmer that will de-burr (chamfer? not sure on terminology the inside of the case mouth).

When do I need to trim my brass. When using the resizing die does it not re-size the case to the proper length?

I'm just now reading about full length, shoulder and neck resizing so I'm guessing it will have something to do with this.

I also just ordered the reloading DVD from Redding so my questions may be premature.

Thanks as always!

1stmar

Not familiar with the Sinclair trimmer but likely doesn't debur and trim in one step. Most people, myself included do not trim pistol cases.
Most companies in the shooting industry are very respectable and will give you the right info and not just try to sell you something. Presumably you are ordering from brownells. They are excellent to deal with.
When you resize a case it doesn't trim. It pushes the shoulder back (bottleneck) and resizes the mouth and body of the case back to specifications. This process also stretches the cases hence the trimming process.
You don't need to resize after every firing. Usually every 4-5 but it varies. You'll need to measure to determine.