Total Noob Cleaning Question

LDSGJA

I've got a browning Buckmark .22 and a Jennings J-22. They are both semi-auto.

I am wondering how often they should be field stripped and throughly cleaned. And if I go to the range and shoot a few hundred rounds do I need to field strip it again or is there a less extensive cleaning regimen?

BTW I did a search and didn't find the info I was looking for. BTW, I know the Jennings is a jamming piece of junk but I still like it.

mellow_c

I didnt fully take down my buckmark till after 2000 rounds. I'd clean the barrel, clean the bolt face and the area in between with Q tips after every range session.

I think the best way to go is touch it up like that every time you shoot it. And then maybe every 1000 rounds do a full take down. Mine was pretty dirty after 2000, but it still shot fine. I just like to keep my guns cleaner than that though. But it's not necessary to do a full take down after every trip to the range.

This all applies to the buckmark of course. I have no experience with the Jennings.

BILLDAVE

It is personal taste. I know guys will say field strip it every time, period. I think if you shoot cheap ammo, shoot over fifty rounds, or in cold/wet weather(condensation issue) then field strip it. Otherwise, run the barrel, hit inside the reciver with Q-tips, and wipe it down real good. Just my opinion. Your Buckmark is a nice gun and deserves good care. Good luck.
BILLDAVE

Death from Afar

Overcleaning can be as bad as undercleaning. I recall examining Steyr AUG's that recruits had been issued and they had been cleaned so much they were almost all unservicable.

If a firearms gets wet, or you shoot corrosive ammo, it should be cleaned after ever shot. I clean the barrels of my centrefire rifles after every use, but dont clean the mechanism of my rimfires until about 1,000 rds, and centrefires about every 500 rds.

With your pistols, I'd clean every 1,000 rds or so, but clean the barrel after every shooting trip.