To carry or not to carry?

HAWK-HKG11

Alright, My friend and I are having a dispute on carrying. He's not anti-gun (very pro-gun infact), but he believes that the entire carry philosophy is flawed. You guys obviously dont need to hear my arguments, but here's his. He believes that there's really no situation in your life where you would get into a conflict where you would NEED to use your gun in public unless its some homicidal maniac (he says, for example, he'd rather lose $200 in a mugging than risk getting killed by pulling a gun out). Of course, whatever I say he won't buy. I'm sure you guys are extremely experienced on this topic (I'm new to firearms as well, but I believe in carrying), so I'd like to hear some logical arguments convincing my friend.

ojibweindian

Why would he think a BG would just stop at taking $200 out of his wallet? Would he be willing to risk his life by depending on the gentle mercies of an armed adversary? That is the epitome of unabashed stupidity!

Only problem is that you don't know when it's going to be a simple theft of property as opposed to possibility of great bodily injury or death. That's why you carry.

If you're friend really feels that way, he can give up his wallet, but when it's an issue of personal safety or life, SHOOT.

When Clint Smith was throwing out some stats to the class, he pointed out something like 10-12% of those mugging-type and related robberies result in the victim getting harmed after giving up the goods. So sure, you have an 88-90% chance of not getting harmed by full compliance.

That number is NOT high enough for me.

Then there are the issues non-robbery violence such as by former spouses or boy/girl friends, rape, and general thug crimes where force is used even when there may not be any apparent goal such as to steal money.